Chocolate Box Paintings…

Standard

I got lost in a huge multi-layered chocolate box this morning! A box so incredibly delightful that at times it brought tears to my eyes at the “taste” of something new… and at times that sweet delicious taste of something enjoyed before but bringing back happy  feel good memories.

I was in the National Gallery on Trafalgar Square in London…

I actually found myself here by accident as I had to do a few hours at an embassy realising that a vital passport had expired… long story… anyway after filling in what felt like a million forms, my head was sore, arms aching I stepped out of the building into a torrential downpour.  Of course I did not have an umbrella having given up on those years ago, so … I looked up Whitehall and straight at the National Gallery.  I made an Olympic timed dash across the square and up the wet steps into the glorious sanctuary.

I have had it in the back of my mind to make a trip in to see a particular painting, The Fighting Temeraire by Turner, as both kiddies are doing this as a project at school and the mums have been drafted in as well to do something too.  I thought I would have a quick look and be on my way to see if I could get some shopping in before heading back to pick kids up.  Well this is where it all went horribly wrong…

I found out the gallery where the painting was and purposefully started off in that direction.. about 6 huge strides into the first gallery I came to an abrupt stop!

Oh THOSE SUNFLOWERS! Van Gogh reached out and touched my spirit on such a dull and dreary day!  I stopped , turned and walked slowly first towards the right, then to the left, then up so close I could almost smell the paint.  I retreated back and just sat down looking, admiring, joy filling my whole being.  After what seemed like an eternity I got up and turned remembering why I had come in… two steps further … Cezanne, Gaugin… oh joy… was it a hazelnut or a sweet strawberry creme?…

Suddenly I remembered the joy that each of these galleries always bring.  I started with quick steps into to the next gallery just to see what magic was waiting there for me… it was like those chocolates with the exploding candy inside… What a delightful layer this was…Monet, Manet, Seurat and Pisarro… artists long forgotten in my old art books but on seeing them again… what joy!  I have always loved Bathers at Asnieres by Seurat because of the sheer size of this amazing painting and the technique involved to bring all those tiny marks together to form such an incredible picture of happiness and relaxation.

As I darted from room to room I got glimpses of paintings remembered but the nicest pieces were those that just caught my eye for some or other reason… a new flavour to test, taste, savour and remember.  Adding to that delicious library of senses that we all have but don’t often take the time to recall.

I found my Turner painting just as a group of school children were being gently teased with its gorgeous flavours by the guide.  I sat on one of the huge leather sofas to admire the painting and listen to what the children were thinking.  I loved their thought processes and just sat with a smile on my face.  I have always said art is in the eye of the beholder.  There is no right or wrong and its what appeals to you. Maybe its because of your past, your upbringing, fond memories, sad memories, happy times or maybe its a longing for something out there that stirs one to stop and admire and love a painting or whatever art form it is.  Either way it is uniquely you.  But having said that there is also that part where one can appreciate the art even though you don’t really like it… the detail, the technique, the circumstances… each painting is as unique as each of us.  Its what makes us love a painting that I find fascinating.  I know I would get hauled over molten lava but I don’t care very much for Constable’s paintings… I find them boring… but that’s me…

Today I just loved the opportunity I had to spend some time with these special special paintings from so long ago.  The intensity of the colours in some of them is so incredible that I found the emotional depth of my feelings so overwhelming that tears ran over my cheeks.  Yes…. I am an emotional person but having grown up in the southern hemisphere and studied art, we only had reproductions in our textbooks to work from.  One could never really truly “see” these masterpieces. Smell them, see the folds and ridges of paint.  How I longed to see them in the “flesh”.  Then some years later having moved here I got this opportunity.  I am constantly amazed at just how lucky, fortunate and privileged Europeans are to have direct access to this.  I sit in front of them and just cry thinking how lucky I am to be able to see and take them in.  We take so many things for granted in life…

And so it went on The Virgin in Prayer by Sassoferrato was a new flavour that just melted in my mouth.  The intense ultramarine just called to me from the adjoining gallery and I moved quickly to experience… one to remember that’s for sure!  Leonardo, Raphael, Rubens and  the next layer of Flemish artists… oh what sweet sweet joy…

I came out of the gallery having had my fill of various layers and needing a break from the sweetness… it DOES get overwhelming!  It was just such a lovely time spent on my own, lost in my own thoughts and just feeling and listening to my own emotional reactions to these paintings.

Even if you have never studied art or never been to a gallery before, do yourself a favour… GO… GO and discover your favourite flavours… there is always one favourite in a box and inevitably you will also find your “coconut” chocolate… either way its fun!  I just must not leave it so long till next time….

For those of you who are not lucky as what I am… you can visit here… www.nationalgallery.org.uk/

About Just Me

I am a stay at home mum who now uses my design and creativity for the benefit of my darling two kiddies, and to give my husband something to sigh about! :-)I love to be surrounded by beautiful things and people who make me smile. I adore my husband and two kiddies and will forever have a scar on my heart and soul for my precious daughter Gaby who got her angel wings.

4 responses »

  1. I don’t visit there often enough these days, working up in Bloomsbury. There was a time back in the nineteen eighties, though, when I’d be in there every other lunchtime. “Waterlilies” was “my” painting. I’d sit and look at it for ten minutes then go back to work feeling lighter, more in tune with something a little bit bigger and more significant than the silly concerns of the large telco I was working for.

  2. It is lovely to be able to just sit and take in that deep life giving breath in front of one of these! I too love “waterlilies”… i’m sure then that you went to the exhibition! Wasn’t that amazing?

Leave a comment